Informatics academics appointed as Turing Fellows in 2021-22

[2021] Congratulations to four new Turing Fellows from the School of Informatics. We are also pleased to see a number of fellows returning for the 2021-22 academic year.

The Alan Turing Institute

Commencing in October 2021, Turing Fellows will collaborate with the Alan Turing Institute, providing expertise in their chosen fields of research, contributing to new ideas and driving collaborative projects.

Turing Fellows are scholars with proven research excellence in data science, artificial intelligence or a related field whose research would be significantly enhanced through active involvement with the Turing network of universities and partners. They benefit from the vibrant, interdisciplinary and collaborative research community at the Institute. Turing Fellows have access to a physical collaborative working and meeting space within the British Library, travel and expenses covered for Turing related activities and the recognised association and title from the UK’s established national data science and AI institute.

New fellows

  • Oisin Mac Aodha
  • Diego Oyarzun
  • Ian Simpson
  • John Vines

Returning fellows

  • Vaishak Belle
  • James Cheney
  • Tiejun Ma
  • Walid Magdy
  • Mahesh Marina
  • Subramanian Ramamoorthy
  • Henry Thompson
  • Chris Williams
  • Maria Wolters

The Alan Turing Institute

The Alan Turing Institute is the UK National Artificial Intelligence and Data Science Centre, with headquarters at the British Library. They undertake research which tackles some of the biggest challenges in science, society and the economy. 

The Institute is named in honour of Alan Turing (23 June 1912 – 7 June 1954), whose pioneering work in theoretical and applied mathematics, engineering and computing are considered to be the key disciplines comprising the fields of data science and artificial intelligence. 

Related links

The Alan Turing Institute